Our Love Story

I can still remember the smell of fresh buttermilk biscuits tickling my nose as I slept in my room at my grandparent’s home. It would wake me out of my deep slumber just like an alarm clock. I knew that country bacon was also included in this sweet aroma that made my little tummy growl with anticipation. I would hurry out of bed, shuffle my feet towards the kitchen, and take my place at the breakfast table knowing I was going to have thee best southern breakfast ever. Biscuits with real butter and sweet molasses poured inside, thick crispy country bacon that it’s fat melted in your mouth as you chewed, fluffy scrambled eggs that were cooked to perfection, and last but not least creamy grits with a pool of real butter on top. My love affair with food began with my grandfather’s cooking, in my grandparent’s home, that I spent countless weekends and summers. My grandfather would push a little stool up to the kitchen counter and taught me how to add a little salt here, a dash of spice there. He provided me the tools that made it possible to carry on his recipes long after he was gone. He shared with me the love of cooking. Now I cook for my family and my love affair with food continues. Now it’s my children who awaken from the smell of buttermilk biscuits and country bacon. It is now my daughter who stands next to me on her step stool learning to add a little spice here and a dash of salt there. I am excited to have you join me in this love affair of cooking food that nourishes not only your body but touches the soul.

7 thoughts on “Our Love Story”

  1. Kindred spirits? I think so! Every word you wrote I could picture from my own childhood with my grandparents. Every word. Such great memories! You won’t believe it, but I used to tell everyone that “food is what makes my world go round”! haha Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

